Charter of Aged Care Rights Update 2019


People receiving Government funded aged care services are protected by a Charter of Aged Care Rights to ensure they are treated well and given high quality services.

There are currently two Charters; one for residential aged care and one for in home care. From 1 July 2019, these will be replaced by a single Charter of Aged Care Rights. The new Charter focuses on 14 fundamental areas:

I have the right to:

  1. safe and high quality care and services
  2. be treated with dignity and respect
  3. have my identity, culture and diversity valued and supported
  4. live without abuse and neglect
  5. be informed about my care and services in a way I understand
  6. access all information about myself, including information about my rights, care and services
  7. have control over and make choices about my care, personal and social life, including where choices involve personal risk
  8. have control over, and make decisions about, the personal aspects of my daily life, financial affairs and possessions
  9. my independence
  10. be listened to and understood
  11. have a person of my choice, including an aged care advocate, support me or speak on my behalf
  12. complain free from reprisal, and to have my complaints dealt with fairly and promptly
  13. personal privacy and to have my personal information protected
  14. exercise my rights without it adversely affecting the way I am treated

You can read more about these at